Ask the Nurse who works with Alzheimer's and Related Dementias

To prevent further cross-talk in Blinkie’s thread, and on the request of Olives, Twickster and others… I started my own Ask the…

So a bit of back ground, Im a Registered Nurse (Registered Nerd, as well) and have been for 10 years. Before that, while in nursing school I worked as a home health aide and had some patients with Alzheimer’s Disease. Currently I work in a psychiatric hospital on the Dementia Unit. Most of our patients are too big of behaviour risk to be in regular long term care facilities. (Agression, Noisy, Elopement risks, mainly) I have worked in this position for almost 4 years, and I have also worked on a specialty dementia unit in a long term care facility. I am in Canada, and have worked in three provinces.

So, ask away… If I don’t know the answer I will either try to find it for you or admit it.

Is “elopement risk” a risk of wandering away, or a euphemism for fooling around?

Elopement is leaving, wandering away, which in a patient not dressed for weather, and not oriented to time and place, and possibly person would definitely be a danger.

“Fooling around” does happen, although its mostly “self love” shall we say. And on my floor, no patients are able to give consent, so we try to discourage things. In other situations, if patients are more capable, situations occcur with or without staff intervening.

I know several cases of people whose relatives realized weren’t well enough to care for them at home after they’d been found wandering around town; a recent case involved a man who’d started walking on the train’s tracks - he happened to be on a very long straight part when a train’s driver spotted him. The man in question used to work for the trains, people are guessing the tracks looked familiar.

Another one would mistake his sons for his brothers-in-law and try to kill them.

How often do you get patients after their relatives have had similar scares?