Assertion: academic success does not equal intelligence.

I’m a university student, and I constantly hear other students saying things like, “Matt’s really smart! He gets great grades in everything!” as though anybody who gets good marks is automatically intelligent. But the thing is, I don’t think they do.

Of course, intelligent people often do well in school. I won’t dispute that. However, there are a lot of really smart people who don’t do well, and a lot of people who do well that aren’t very bright. At least at my university, all you need to do well is a good memory or good study skills.

Few people I talk to agree with me, though. I’m not sure what it is, but many think that you just have to be smart to do well in school, and if you don’t, then you’re probably a bit dim. I’m curious to see what a wider variety of people than I normally get to talk to thinks about this.

So, what do you think?

Agreed.

For most courses that I have taken, good grades = good (relatively short term) memory. I know many, many “grade-A” people who retain far less a couple of years down the road than some “grade-B” folks. Add to that the fact that many courses require repeating knowledge, but not as much application, and I also postualte that you don’t need to truly understand a topic to get good grades in it.

I agree with you 100%. I have asserted that grades don’t give a very good analysis of a student’s intelligence in a subject for years. I give you the following live example from my life:

When I was dating my wife, we took the same programming class together. She was ALWAYS copying code from me and never really knew what was going on, but she got the A and I got the B in the class. She knew how to take tests better than I did and also knew how to give the teacher what he was looking for.

Agreed.