Assuming Mitt Romney replaces Orrin Hatch, what are your expectations for Mitt?

My WAG is that like most GOP moderates, he’ll talk a way better game than he votes. When it comes to voting, he’ll be a McCain-level sort, breaking from the party only very occasionally. Not even Murkowski level, let alone Collins level (which is still pretty wimpy), in terms of frequency of voting against the party majority.

He’ll be your typical Republican. But he has a more charitable nature than most, I don’t think he’ll be willing to destroy Obamneycare without an adequate replacement. He also push for more diplomacy rather than saber-rattling.

I think at this point he’s about the best we can hope for. I suspect he would have voted for the final GOP tax bill. He’ll be on the Sunday talk shows speaking out about how Trump needs to act more presidential, but I doubt he’ll do much of anything about it (not even sure he could if he wanted to).

As a Utah resident, I expect he would be roughly like John McCain too.

I can’t see much independence from him. Even before The Dawn of Trump, when Mitt was seeking the position of Candidate for President, he mouthed the party lines about healthcare, even saying that poor people could go to Emergency Rooms if they had to. Romney had overseen the implementation of “Romneycare” in Massachusetts, so he knew how bogus an argument that was – that sending poor people to emergency rooms to get needed care is an abysmal solution, neither useful to the poor (who really need preventive care, not emergency treatment as a last resort) nor to the rest of us, who end up paying more on their behalf for this option. So the guy will go against what he knows in order to kowtow to the party line.

He opposed Trump when he looked like an absurdly long shot, but came crawling back to him for a post when Trump took the top spot among the candidates. I don’t look to him to rock the boat or challenge PartyThink.