Attack of the Zombie Carpet Stains

Just under 3 years ago we moved to a house that had lovely, spotless ivory-colored carpets throughout.

Within two months, the carpets in the family room and master bedroom had developed some major stains.

Now, don’t get me wrong - we’re slobs and have certainly been known to spill things. But we simply hadn’t had time to mess 'em up that badly. Evidently, we were seeing long-presumed-dead carpet stains, resurrecting themselves.

We’d had something similar happen with a stain at our previous house. A casserole containing soy sauce and other things had spilled. We had it cleaned by a professional, the stain was gone, but within a year or so it had reappeared.

What’s up with this? How does this happen?

(hey, it’s one thing if my slobbish past catches up with me, but it seems awfully unfair when someone else’s slobbish past catches up with me!)

I was a professional carpet cleaner for a summer nearly twenty years ago. You have illustrated why you need to clean up a stain as soon as possible.

My guess is that the stain soaked all the way through the carpet and into the liner so what you have is a stratified stain. When the carpet was cleaned, the stain on the surface and a bit below the surface was removed. Over time, the stuff below worked its way up to the surface.

You didn’t say which method was used to do the cleaning and you probably don’t know in this case. I have no idea if carpet cleaning technology has changed in the last couple of dacades but I think that you want to use a deep steam cleaning on this stain.

Haj

Another possibility is that whoever cleaned a spot in the past used to much cleaning product and/or didn’t thoroughly remove it all and left a sticky spot.

Hajario’s explanation is more likely in the case of the stain I made (spilt casserole) because it came back in exactly the same shape as the original stain had been. Regarding the stains in our current house there’s no way to tell though.