Attorney work product and clients with unpaid bills (Illinois)

As some of you know, I’m a paralegal at a law firm. It’s slow today, and I’m at work trying to make sense of a project one of the partners assigned me. Unfortunately, none of the people who might be able to provide further guidance are around on Christmas Eve, so here I am.

I’d appreciate being pointed in the right direction on the following:

• Can an attorney withhold work product from a client because of unpaid bills? If so, under what circumstances?

• How can a creditor report unpaid client bills to credit bureaus?

Citations would be appreciated. Thanks in advance. In the meantime, I will continue noodling around semi-aimlessly.

:: bump :: hoping that people are actually working today.

Foolish question, I’m sure, but have you looked at the Illinois ethics rules? Most state rules have guidance on terminating representation and on the lawyer’s duty of confidentiality.

Just call the ARDCs ethics hotline and ask about question #1

This is really a call the responsible lawyer needs to make. I’d say either put it off until he’s back in the office, or call him at home for clarification.

I started reading through them last week, but my eyes started to glaze over. I will pick up later. I don’t know that this has anything to do with terminating representation; it may just be a general question.

I don’t know that it even has anything to do with a specific case, and I was specifically told it wasn’t time-sensitive. If I can’t figure it out, I’ll wait until she is back in the office.

was that bolding really necessary?

IMHO, yes. I find it annoying that so many people assume that any given attorney is male. Especially in the area of law I work in; most of the immigration attorneys I’ve worked with over the past 10 years, and a majority of the ones in my current firm, are women.