Author List of Gravitational Wave Paper

About the Abbott et al. papper in Physical Review Letters announcing the detection of gravitational waves. I was looking at the very long author list, and the list appears to be alphabetical - including the first author. Is “B.P. Abbott” the PI for the project and he also just happens to be the 1st alphabetically, of 1000+ co-authors? Or is he some lucky guy who is now immortalized because his name happens to start with AB?

Alphabetical (so yes, BP Abbott got lucky). Not my field, but I believe that alphabetical author listing is the norm in Physics (in my field senior author/PI is almost always last).

I can’t make out who is the senior/corresponding author on that paper, if its even listed.

Also noted 3 dead guys.

See also the Higgs boson detection paper, for which the first author was one G. Aad.

Speaking as a physicist, I think that alphabetical listing of authors is not universal, but it’s pretty common. For smaller author lists, it can be relatively easy to determine an order of priority that everyone can agree on; but for 1000+ authors, it would be well-nigh impossible. Better to just go alphabetical and avoid opening that can of worms.

Interesting, thank you. Is the concept of “first author” not as strong as in other fields? Or is this a special case for large collaborations where it’s politically impossible or unwise to pick one author as the primary author?

It’s mostly for large collaborations. Most papers are by two or three people, who end up getting ordered in whatever way makes most sense given who did what work. Probably the most common situation is an advisor and a graduate student, where the advisor guided the project and provided helpful feedback, and the graduate student did most of the actual work.