Bactrim - UGH!

I went to the doctor last Thursday with symptoms of a urinary tract infection, and sure enough, that’s what I had. Fortunately, it was caught very early, and he prescribed me 10 days of Bactrim (filled with generic sulfamethoxazole/trimethoprim). I’ve taken it before without any problems, but THIS time, I felt miserable all weekend (dizziness, depression, loss of appetite, and more) and even though I’m a pharmacist, I had no idea it could cause this many side effects all at once! :eek:

I know how important it is to finish antibiotics, but this time, I’m going to take the risk of it recurring and finish them if I do. :rolleyes: I felt 100 times worse on that medication than I did before! Many doctors order 3 days’ worth anyway, so I hope I’m covered. Honestly, I felt fully recovered the very next day. :slight_smile:

While we’re on this subject, I believe that a lot of people who think they have fibromyalgia actually have muscle destruction (rhabdomyolysis) from statin anti-cholesterol drugs, a class that I think is massively overused.

Anyone else have similar stories about this or other drugs?

I was prescribed Bactrim once, for what turned out to be nothing - but the Urgent Care doctor thought it might be a UTI. I took one dose, and about 6 hours later, was hit with the most intense nausea I’ve felt in my adult life. As someone with a deep-seated fear of nausea/vomiting, I was essentially paralyzed with anxiety, afraid to move for fear of setting off my stomach, for hours.

I did not take the second dose, and called the physician back the next day and got him to call in something else. But I was traumatized by the nausea and couldn’t eat normally for several days. It was hell, and I will not take Bactrim again.