Baseball Rule ?

We had a controversial call in a game this morning. Long story short, runners were on 1st and 2nd and a ground ball was hit in the direction of the 1st Baseman. Going for the ball, the 1st Baseman was interfered with by the runner on 1st. Obviously, the runner was called “out.”

The question is whether the ball/play is immediately considered “dead” and whether all play stops at that point.

If I am reading the rules right, the ball is still in play except under two conditions:
(a) There was a runner on third (and less than two out), in which case the runner on third is out; or
(b) The interference was intentional and clearly meant to break up a double play, in which case the batter and the runner are both out.
Otherwise, the ball is in play as the defense may still have the opportunity to get additional players out.

Rule 7.09

7.09
It is interference by a batter or a runner when –

(a) After a third strike he hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball;

(b) Before two are out and a runner on third base, the batter hinders a fielder in making a play at home base; the runner is out;

(c) Any member or members of the offensive team stand or gather around any base to which a runner is advancing, to confuse, hinder or add to the difficulty of the fielders. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate or teammates;

(d) Any batter or runner who has just been put out hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate;
Rule 7.09(d) Comment: If the batter or a runner continues to advance after he has been put out, he shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impeding the fielders.

(e) If, in the judgment of the umpire, a base runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead. The umpire shall call the runner out for interference and also call out the batter-runner because of the action of his teammate. In no event may bases be run or runs scored because of such action by a runner.

(f) If, in the judgment of the umpire, a batter-runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball, with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead; the umpire shall call the batter-runner out for interference and shall also call out the runner who had advanced closest to the home plate regardless where the double play might have been possible. In no event shall bases be run because of such interference.

(g) In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base.

(h) With a runner on third base, the base coach leaves his box and acts in any manner to draw a throw by a fielder;

(i) He fails to avoid a fielder who is attempting to field a batted ball, or intentionally interferes with a thrown ball, provided that if two or more fielders attempt to field a batted ball, and the runner comes in contact with one or more of them, the umpire shall determine which fielder is entitled to the benefit of this rule, and shall not declare the runner out for coming in contact with a fielder other than the one the umpire determines to be entitled to field such a ball;
Rule 7.09(i) Comment: When a catcher and batter-runner going to first base have contact when the catcher is fielding the ball, there is generally no violation and nothing should be called. “Obstruction” by a fielder attempting to field a ball should be called only in very flagrant and violent cases because the rules give him the right of way, but of course such “right of way” is not a license to, for example, intentionally trip a runner even though fielding the ball. If the catcher is fielding the ball and the first baseman or pitcher obstructs a runner going to first base “obstruction” shall be called and the base runner awarded first base.

(k)A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference.

PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out and the ball is dead.


Rule 7.09(i) seems to be applicable here, and in any case this seems to make it clear that the runner is out and the ball is dead.

What’s less clear (to me, at least) is what happens to the batter and the other runner. Are they awarded their bases (first and third in this case)? Or is the runner at second held there, and the batter awarded first? The other possibility would be to send the runner back to second and the batter back to the plate, but I can’t see how that could work…

Runner out, batter to first, other runner back to second.