Bear kills woman - track it down & kill it??

Link

Lemme get this straight. After an autopsy reveals that a bear attack occurred, authorities decide to track the responsible party down and kill it? Is this right?

I could understand if the bear was going from door to door*, or robbing banks, or holding hostages. But the bear had long since left the scene (apparently, because there was enough time to have an autopsy performed).

Why was this bear hunted down & killed- because it killed a human? Is this supposed to serve as a deterrant to other bears? Bears are often aggressive by nature; in many encounters between man & bear, man loses. Why not just hunt them all down? If we don’t do that, it’s possible that another human may lose his or her life.

Was this justified in your humble opinion?

[sub]Knock-knock.

Who’s there?

Land Shark.[/sub]

Keep in mind I’m no bear expert, but…

It’s my understanding that wild black bears normally will steer clear of humans, but once they’ve become desensitized (normally because they’ve become fond of our rather tasty garbage) they’re hard to keep away. Any bear that’s bold enough to enter a house is not a bear that’s going to disappear into the woods and never be seen again.

I say they round up the usual suspects and interrogate these bears.

Reminds me of a joke.

The FBI, CIA and NSA are being on their field interrogation tactics and how effective they are. The teams are sent into the woods to find a certain rabbit.

I don’t remember the body of the joke but the punchline results in the NSA (FBI and CIA have already failed) coming out of the woods with a bear who looks the worse for wear and who keeps saying “Okay, Okay, you’ve found me out. I confess. I’m a rabbit!.. I’m a rabbit!!..”

The FBI, CIA and NSA are being tested on their field interrogation tactics…