Becoming an Entrepreneur

I’m a freshman in college right now, doing a math and statistics double major and I have actuarial Exam P passed. That’s been my plan so far, to become an actuary.

I’ve lately been thinking about the prospect of going into business or entrepreneurship. What would be the best way to go about that, if I was to take that route?

Would it be to keep doing what I’m doing, pass more actuarial exams, work as an actuary for a while and then start a business, or is there a better more efficient way to go about it?

Well you usually need significant cash to become an entrepreneur, both for the business start-up costs and for your living expenses while setting it up.

Generally it also helps to be passionate about something. So if you like horses opening up a beach bar in Hawaii isn’t going to hold your interests during the 16 hour days of not making much money. Likewise if you want to start an actuarial firm be sure you at least like hustling for clients, managing staff and dealing with layers and accountants because even as a one person firm. You’ll spend much more of your time doing those things then being an actuary.

Best advice I got during my MBA program with regards to entrepreneurship was once you have an idea go sell it to someone. If you’ve come up with a way to improve the microwave don’t spent years tinkering to make it perfect take the concept out and see if you can find someone who wants to buy it. If not find out why and then fix that then go sell it again. The idea idea is to fail quickly so you don’t have a huge investment in an idea before you’ve gotten it in front of customers. Before I started my distillery I organized a craft spirits and craft cocktail party at $20 / person to see if people in my town would spend that kind of money on local made spirits for instance.

Get the degree and job. You will need capital and cash flow once you start up. Most businesses fail because of cash flow issues during the first year or two.