Bed sheets. I'm new at this. What should I be looking for? Material? Thread count?

It’s been a long time since I purchased bed sheets. My ex took care of that.
So, what am I looking for in a moderate budget?
Can Walmart provide me with a reasonable product?

Cotton.

ISTR 400 is the lowest you want to go in terms of comfort or even durability. Go as big as your wallet will let you, at some point it becomes an investment.

Also, Jersey Knit are quite nice (and cheap), a bit like a flannely t-shirt. Pay attention to how you launder them or they can pill. Target sells these for sure, and they come in a cool bag made of the same stuff that you can use when collecting mushrooms in the forest…or something.

What’s an ISTR?

I think he meant “I Seem to Recall”.

Personally, I’m a big fan of microfiber sheets. They’re durable and cooling, and ridiculously soft.

This is the brand I’m currently using.

If you have a CostCo near you, they have nice sheet sets. I picked Alberta randomly for you (this is a 600 thread count set).

Things to look for:

-Type of material - do you prefer warm or cool (cotton, bamboo, flannel, silk, and so on). I would avoid anything that says polyester.
-Size of your mattress - obviously you know what size your bed is, but look how deep your mattress is as well. Mattresses can be a lot thicker than they used to be, so make sure you are getting sheets that will fit over your mattress.
-If you’re buying a set, look for things like the size of the pillow cases compared to your pillows (king pillows are a different size) and the number of pillow cases included (some will have 2 versus 4).

I like the cotton sheets from Costco for Spring, Summer and Fall, and I get the flannel for Winter. I’ve tried bamboo before, and it feels nice but wears out quickly.

Here’s some microfiber sheets.

:smack: I genuinely thought it stood for some technical sheet parameter.