being paid to be a guinea pig?

ok, i’m not sure if this is the right forum for this or not. originally i was going to go in general questions, but i am afraid of manhatten, so i’m posting here.

has anybody here ever signed up for one of those programs where they pay you to test food additives and stuff? here in baltimore there are TONS of these adds in newspapers for people to test stuff for johns hopkins medical center. most of them need people who are either coke addicts or hiv positive, but there are a couple that just need healthy non-smokers.

since i am a poor college student who needs money BAD, and cant find a regular job that is just for the month of january, i was planning on signing up for one of these things. 620$.

but one of my friends was telling me it was really a bad idea. so: has anyone here ever done one of these experiments? or known anyone who has? how did it turn out? were the side-effects bad or not so much? was it worth it?

any information greatly appreciated,
sneeze

I haven’t done it myself, but Robert Rodriguez did. It’s one of the ways he made money to finance his film, El Mariachi. He wrote a book called Rebel Without a Crew that is basically a compilation of his daily journal. He tells about his experience as a “lab rat”, and talks about some of the tests done with other people. I don’t remember a whole lot about it, and the book is packed away. If you can find a copy, you can read about the process as it related to at least one person.

No, I haven’t but there must be web pages by people that have doen this & hideous reactions (or by people who have done it & made lots of money really easily)!

Yup - I did a quick search on http://www.google.com searching on:

medical test subjects

& got quite a few sites & interesting looking synopses back. If you don’t get anything here, that’s your best bet.