Best Pazz & Jop Critics Poll Album 1984

For me, the hardest year of all - this was the year I turned 14, and the year I got heavily into “underground”/college rock, so, with the exception of the Tina Turner album (which I found bland), I’ve been listening to all these albums for 30 years now, and the number of them I consider classics is staggering. How can you vote against Purple Rain? Luckily, I’ll have more chances to vote for Prince, but it pains me to pass this one by. Similarly, you’ve got groundbreaking double albums from Hüsker Dü and the Minutemen that should be at the top of every music fan’s must-listen list, a great pop-oriented Lou Reed option, another classic from R.E.M. (luckily, I voted for them last time), the first rap album to make the list, and the pinnacle of '80s roots rock in the #1 and #3 positions. But since I’ll also have another chance to vote for Hüsker Dü, this year I have to go with the Replacements, if only for sentimental reasons. It pains me not to give the Minutemen some love, but this whole list pains me, really. A superb year.

Run DMC, for its historical impact over anything else.

Much as I like - REALLY like - Let It Be, Reckoning, How Will the Wolf Survive?, She’s So Unusual, and Double Nickles on the Dime, they all are monochromatic when compared to the full on Technicolor 3-D funhouse that is Prince and the Revolution’s Purple Rain.

I must be the only person on the planet who doesn’t like Prince. I’m going with Springsteen; ever single song on that album is memorable and still plays well. How The Bangles ever made the list is a mystery to me.

That first Bangles album is great - updated '60s pop before they started aiming for a more top 40 sound. “Going Down To Liverpool” and “Hero Takes A Fall” are some of their best work.

You made my mind up for me. I voted REM - Reckoning :smiley:

*Reckoning *for me. My #2 pick would be All Over The Place. I played both of them to death when they first came out.