Black background vs. white background - which is more straining on the eye?

So I gotten this programming job and a senior programmer suggests that I should switch the background of my code writing program to black. His reasoning - black is not a colour, whereas white is. if the background is white, we are actually looking at it at the refresh rate of the monitor. So by changing it to black, there’s less strain on the eye and you can work longer without feeling tired.

Make sense? Is it true?

Black text on a white background (or a very pale yellow or green) is generally considered best.

This page All About Vision seems to cover what you want (and more) :slight_smile:

Basics: get LCD, ensure glare is low and lighting correct, adjust contrast for your environment, use black on white (or another high-contrast dark-on-light combination).

Caveat: IANAOptometrist… though for what it’s worth I am a software UI/Interaction designer and have some experience in this area.

So eh, Black on White/Pale Yellow > White on Black (which is my senior programmer’s suggestion)

White on black is very hard on the eyes.

And don’t get me started about web pages that use color schemes like blue lettering on a red background!

Black is not a color? What on earth is he smoking?

White on black is hard on the eyes. I won’t even look at a website with a black background unless it has giant letters.

I find white on black very harsh on my eyes.

I personally prefer black on light grey. Yellow on blue (the scheme used by many IDEs of the DOS era) is also acceptable.