Bought the property!

As I had posted in a previous thread, some friends and I are going to build an eco-friendly home in the high desert north of Los Angeles. Some asked for a blog about our progress, and that is in the works. Actually, as a filmmaker I plan to make a video documentary of the process.

Anyway, the property I described in that thread was unsuitable for a variety of reasons, not the least of which is that most high desert realtors are essentially sociopathic d-bags, so we had to find something else. Well, after a long search, we bought this property.

It is 12 minutes by road from downtown Lancaster with supermarket, Wal Mart, Home Despot, Red Slobber, etc. It is 5 minutes by road from the latest KB one square mile of crackerboxes development. Electricity and phone are on the property. Water is supposedly at the paved road, but I notice the neighbor to the west has a pump house and tank. There is a plentiful aquifer, so plentiful that they can use the water (pumped by trucked in diesel) to fatten cows in feedlots around the area. If you have Google Earth you can see all that. Very interesting, but I digress. For those with Google Earth, here are the co-ordinates of the property-

34°45’20.40"N

117°54’44.88"W

Those are roughly in the middle of the plot.
So what sayeth the Dope? Did I do good? Did I get our venture off to a solid start? What dangers are next? Thanks as always. I luv this board! :cool:

Hey neighbor! I’m off on the westside from you - 90th west, to be slightly more precise.

Next dangers: Lancaster culture. But I think you’ll be fine. I’ll be curious for updates!

Speaking as a city boy… why on earth would anyone choose to live in such a bleak empty, presumably inhospitable, area?

I was born here; I stay here because it is cheap for me to live here while I finish college. I have a love/hate relationship with the place. Me, I find the city inhospitable. :wink: