Buying a house in Arizona

We vacationed in Sedona and liked the area. We are thinking of selling one of our houses in Wisconsin and buying a winter home in Arizona.
One of the directors at the company l sold has a winter home outside of Phoenix and talked about how nice it is.
Any advice on buying a house in Arizona?

Be very careful where you buy. Sedona is a hippy town and pretty liberal. Prescott is the most racist town in Arizona, closely followed by Phoenix. Be sure you are vaccinated because nobody around you will be practicing any social distancing or wearing masks. Bring lots of money because housing costs are skyrocketing.

As a 30+ year resident, I strongly suggest you rethink your plans. If I wasn’t married to a Trumper who like the politics here, I would be moving out of the state.

Good luck.

Not to mention, what with global warming, soon Arizona will be uninhabitable.

I suspect this might be an attractive feature for OP.

In most years, Phoenix averages a daily maximum temperature for February that’s between 68 and 75 degrees Fahrenheit.
I don’t think a 6 degree rise in temperature would be a problem.
The wife likes Florida, that is problematic with climate change.

Yeah, the problem is not that the weather gets a bit warmer. It’s the effects that derive from that - rising sea levels, hurricanes, droughts, etc. I don’t know what Arizona’s prospects are but in any desert region I’d look into how robust the water supplies are.

Yes, I agree with the water problem. I can see Lake Michigan from my living room. Water is not a problem in this area.

Actually Phoenix is planning for a future with less water and will probably be fine. Especially if we’re talking within the next 20-25 years. They’ve taken measures to be ready to use no water from the Colorado River at all.
One link to Phoenix’s planning

Meanwhile Florida is going to get blasted by steadily stronger storms and sea level rise.