John Deau and Dick N. Jayne are fighting for the chumpionship of the whirled. A 12 round bout. 3 knock down rule, no saving by the bell except in the last round.
For 11 rounds Deau dominates Jayne, winning every round and overwhelmingly ahead on points. With a few seconds left in the 12th round (Deau brutalized Jayne through most of it) Jayne scores a blow that sends Deau to the canvas.
The ref only reaches the count of 9 when the bell rings. Round is over. Deau remains flat on the canvas out cold.
How do the judges rule? The ref could have stopped the fight without the count, but he didn’t. The round ended and Deau was not officially “knocked out”. Do the judges go by the scoring and award the fight to Deau. Or do they acknowledge that even with the bell Jayne scored a knockout and give him the win?
Has anything even remotely similar to this ever happened?