''Bulge'' in Shuttle Columbia photo--any speculation yet?

I apologize if this has already been covered, but. . .

We’ve all seen the grainy photo that shows a bulge on the leading edge of the left wing. Have any of the experts given any speculation on what was causing a bulge on the leading edge.

I’m not a rocket scientist, so in my simplistic view–assuming that the crash was caused by damage to the left wing–I would have expected to see (if anything) a dent, rather than a bulge.

Gremlin on the wing.

I don’t recall seeing a bulge. It looked more like a piece of the middle section being gone, making the fuselage intersection looking like it stuck out.

Here’s a large version of the photograph. The “bulge” itself is only 2-3 pixels wide, in a photo of the shuttle that spans ~60 pixels. I haven’t heard what the angular resolution is between pixels, but it’s quite possible that the whole effect is an artifact produced by atmospheric turbulence of the same sort that causes stars to twinkle.
NASA’s STS-107 Investigation Reference Page is a good source for Shuttle related information.

Over at samizdata.net, someone thought a projection at the end of the shuttle in that photo might be a plasma plume in a line with the apparent damage on the front of the wing. Obviously this isn’t official and I have no idea if it’s significant or even real, so take it with a grain of salt. But it is interesting.

A look at the Starfire Optical Range’s site “the world’s premiere adaptive optics center”(a divison of the directed energy directorate) turns up some pretty impressive shots of meteor trails and “spectroscopic” binary stars, but nothing on how they photographed the shuttle.

The photo was made by some geeks goofing around in their time off with a twelve year old mac they found in a cupboard and a run of the mill telescope. They wanted to play around with software for taking pictures of fast moving objects.

Looking for the cite.