C#, C++ and C

I’ve been programming professionally for 10 years or so, most of that in C, with a fair amount of C++ more recently, but, up until my present job, I’ve worked entirely on video game consoles. Now I’m working on Windows, and I’d like to write a simple little tool with some buttons and pulldown menus and so forth. Various smart people say that things like that are VERY easy to do in C#. However, (a) I don’t know a thing about C#, and (b) this tool would need to use our pre-existing networking and utility code, which is in C.

So:
(1) How easy is it to learn C#, coming from a C/C++ background?
(2) How easy is it to write a tool where the interface is in C# but it calls some number of C functions, or perhaps vice versa?
Thanks

C# is easy for someone who already knows a C-like language. The syntax is similar, the object model is basically C++ with managed memory, and it has all Microsoft’s various Visual tools behind it, so yay. It has more syntax than C, but less than C++. It is allegedly easy to call into C; one of MS’s stated design goals for C# was to make writing native code easy on Windows (to differentiate it from Java and its miserable JNI, I presume). They have about a million tutorials on it on MSDN, anyway.

Can’t speak for #2 at all, but #1 - I agree. My background was C/C++ and I had no trouble picking up C# in a five-day training course. Syntax was easy. Development environment and the structure may take a little getting used to - Visual Basic experience would help a bit with that aspect.

I just went from a C/C++ background to C#, and I love it. The hardest part is learning all the stuff that C# already does that you had to do “by hand” with C/C++. There’s just assloads of functions built-in to the language, like XML and http functions.