California Prop 8 Ballot Initiative question for the legally inclined

I am confused by the contradictory claims made about the equality of Domestic Partnerships and Marriage under California State Law.

California’s Domestic Partnership code states

Yet there are nine exceptions found by the plaintiffs in In re Marriage Cases. (footnote 24 on page 42)

In a previous thread, Poster BrightNShiny, an LA lawyer, also claims that every time marriage changes, there must be discussion and a vote on whether to extend the same rights to domestic partnerships.

My layman’s understanding of California Family Code §297-297.5 assures their equality — but I’m only a layman. Can anyone explain it to me so I understand it?

Where is your confusion?

The nine exceptions listed in the Supreme Court of California case you linked all deal with specific differences between the statutes dealing with marriage and the statutes dealing with domestic partnerships. That is, they are the result of there being a specific difference in how the statutes which authorize and govern the mechanics of domestic partnerships deal with each of those issues from the way the marriage statutes deal with the same issues.

BrightnShiny is incorrect in the assertion that everytime there is a change considered for marriage that the Legislature would be forced to consider making the same change for partnerships. Clearly, if there was, for example, a new tax benefit codified for marriage, it would also apply to partnerships, regardless of whether or not it specifically said so. But if a change is considered to marriage which affects something covered by the statutes governing partnerships, and those statutes aren’t modified in harmony, a new exception could arise.

Married spouses aren’t required to have a common residence, domestic partnerships are.

Persons under the age of 18 can be married with consent of a legal guardian, domestic partners can’t enter into partnership.