Calling all runners/marathoners and food/weight folks!

Ok, here is the situation.

I’m (perhaps somewhat foolishly) training for a marathon. I’m going to run the LA marathon in March with a good friend, and I started training in August.

So far, so good. But there are some things.

1. I’m a sprinter. I’ve always been a sprinter (swimming, running). It’s taken me MONTHS to be able to run 5 miles at a stretch.

2. I have low blood sugar, and if I don’t eat something somewhat carb-ish within an hour after running, I feel sick and nearly pass out, if I’ve run more than about 2 miles. My friend, who is currently training with the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, told me that I probably am lacking decent glycogen stores in my muscles and I use it up fast because I have more fast-twitch muscle fibers. Makes sense.

3. I gained 10 pounds in a month this summer from switching birth control pills. No other changes, just pill switching, and on the weight went. This means that most of my clothes don’t fit. I don’t want to have to go out and buy all new clothes, especially since I’d rather just be 10 pounds lighter.

4. Even with all the running I’m doing, I’m not really losing any of the weight. And going off the BC pills isn’t much of an option for many reasons, not just the not-getting-pregnant aspect. I’m worried that if I switch back to my old pill I’ll just gain 10 more pounds.

So I guess here is where I need advice. What should I be eating that will give me enough energy to be able to run enough, and not make myself sick, but that I will still be able to lose this damn extra weight? FWIW, I’m a pescatarian (I will OCCASIONALLY eat chicken…maybe once a month). Red meat is out.

Also, I’m heavily muscled. I have the body type that bulks up fast, so the extra weight is noticeable on me (layer of fat over big muscles = jeans don’t fit). Until this year, I probably had about 18% body fat.

I’m a 24year-old girl, if that makes any difference.