Calling Those In Charge of Hiring

I’m in the process of hiring for an entry level position. This is my first time reviewing resumes and interviewing.

In my ad, I asked for people to submit a cover letter specifying salary expectations.

Of the 30 or so resumes I’ve received, only 1 person has followed this expectation. Figuring it was entry level and the youngin’s don’t know, I sent out follow up e-mails asking for a salary level. No one responded, and the candidates were good. Have I intimidated them or is this a reasonable expectation?

I’m only asking so I don’t waste my time and theirs bringing in someone who wants a salary that I can’t offer. That being said, I didn’t want to limit my ad by specifying a salary, because we are paying based on an experience level. I wanted to judge experience and salary expectation in my review.

Advice please.

I always put that my salary requirements are negotiable. I hate that little game. If I guess more than the job will pay then I don’t get the interview. If I go lower, then maybe they get away with paying me less than they should.

Next time put a salary range in your ad, or put in the minimum you’ll pay noting that experience will result in higher salary.

From the perspective of the entry-level candidate…

As someone who recently got her first salaried job, I did a lot of research on this topic. There were lots of opinions, but pretty much everyone said: “you’re laughably retarded if you actually come out and state salary first; do everything in your power possible to goad the employer to make the first offer.” However, it would’ve been polite to acknowledge your request, if only in a vague way.

This advice worked well for me. I was given a form before I started the interview, wherein there was a box for expected salary. I didn’t put in anything. As it turned out, my expected range was $18,000 below what they actually offered me. :eek: