Can an electrical engineer do anything that an electrician can do?

Just curious. Would being an electrical engineer let you understand inherently almost anything that an electrician would need to do to fix or install something and let you do it yourself if you had the tools?

Is there stuff that an electrician would know that an electrical engineer might not know?

Electricians need to know electrical code requirements; an electrical engineer might not be up to speed on all of that. There’s also the practicalities of running wires and diagnosing electrical faults; an engineer may be booksmart on voltage and current, but may not know where to begin when trying to find a problem somewhere inside a real electrical system.

I’m a mechanical engineer. I do just about all of my own service on my cars, but I’ve met other mechanical engineers who had difficulty just using a screwdriver.

Agree with this. In addition, electricians have to know the current products and suppliers (and prices), things which a EE probably doesn’t have to be familiar with.

It’s not saying that an EE couldn’t do this stuff and couldn’t know it, just that he wouldn’t be familiar with it the way an electrician would.

On top of which, an Electrical Engineer probably wouldn’t be a Licensed Electrician unless he went through the procedure. I think that would keep him from working as one in most places.

I just want to add that when I was an undergrad I knew some EE majors that I wouldn’t trust with a toaster.

I’ve never met an EE who can drink, spit, or curse like an electrician.

Here in Oz (and South Oz to be more exact) the situation has changed form one side to the other.