Can I learn drawing from books/video/etc.? Or do you really need to go to a class?

I have always wanted to learn to draw and now I have the time. I have no art training (since 8th grade art class) and would be interested in the fundamentals. I am reviewing classes available at the local community college.

Is drawing something where you really need a live instructor? Or can you learn it effectively independently from books or videos?

I have played the guitar for over 50 years and when people ask me this question about the guitar, I say that they have to spend at least some time with a good teacher to get a feedback loop. But OTOH I wouldn’t recommend 30-40 hours of group classroom instruction, which is what the community college class would be.

Why not simply try books and see if you can learn from them?

You can certainly learn the fundamentals from books and videos, see if it’s something you like and see if you have any talent at it.

I’m a pretty good artist and a mediocre guitar player. I would say it’s similar to learning to play guitar-- you can get pretty far teaching yourself with books and videos, then if you get good enough and enjoy it enough you might want to get an instructor to take you to the next level (I never did with guitar, other than playing with friends who were better players than me-- hence, perhaps, my mediocrity at guitar).

It might vary from person to person depending on your learning style though. Some people might do better with an instructor from the start.

I believe that anyone of normal intelligence can learn to draw, with the right motivation and the right teacher. The one book I thoroughly recommend is Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain by Betty Edwards.