Can musicians really stop politicians from using their songs?

There are lots of stories in the news these days about musicians (mostly liberals) complaining about politicians (mostly conservative) using their songs in their campaign events, and how the musicians don’t want their songs used in that way. But… do they really get a say? I always thought that once you publish a song, and register it with an outfit like ASCAP or BMI or whatever, you pretty much have given anyone (who is willing to pay the royalties) the right to use it. Am I wrong? Or have things changed? Or are the musicians just grandstanding?

A couple of cites:

http://nbc.com.co/survivor-files-1-2-million-lawsuit-against-kim-davis-mike-huckabee/

Here’s my understanding of it. Keep in mind I’m an engineer, not a lawyer.

This is actually an interesting legal question because no politician has ever told a musician to go stuff it after a musician has complained about the use of their song. At first glance, it would seem that the musician doesn’t have any say in the matter, since as you pointed out, the politician has obtained all of the necessary rights legally.

However, it turns out that there are some potential options for the musician. Poking around online, there’s a thing called the Lanham Act, which deals with trademark confusion, that the musician can use against the politician. There’s also a thing called false endorsement, where the musician can claim that the use of the song implies an endorsement where no such endorsement exists. The musician can also claim that this is using their public persona in an unauthorized manner, since people will associate the song with the artist who created it.