Can You Get a Master's Degree in a Subject You Didn't Major In?

Lately I’ve been entertaining the idea of getting my Master’s Degree. I got my bachelor’s in… well, never mind that. But it wasn’t in English or journalism, which I’m thinking about doing now.

Simply put, can you get a Master’s in a subject you haven’t studied?

Certainly, yes, especially if it’s a professional or vocational masters, like journalism.

MBAs often have undergrad concentrations in areas besides Business.

Yep, although usually you’ll need to take some leveling work. Two examples:

1. I got my B.A. in History and my M.S. and (soon) Ph.D. in Geology. While working on my M.S., I had to take about 18 extra hours of undergraduate Geology and Math that weren’t required for my B.A. (would’ve been more, but I was a Geology minor).

2. My wife got her B.S. in Geology (English minor) and is working on her M.A. in English. Her committee evaluated her transcripts and decided that she didn’t need to take leveling work, even though she doesn’t have as many undergraduate English hours as your typical English grad student.

I’ve known other people in similar situations. In general, it seems that if you are going into a hard science–even from another science–you can do it, but expect to take some leveling work. If you are not, it’ll depend on the graduate faculty at your school, your committee, etc.

I got my M.A. in Public History. The program was for people who wanted to specialize porfessionally in museums, archives, historic preservation, etc. rather than in traditional academia. Most of the folks in the program–myself included–had undergrad degrees in History, but a few had degrees in related fields, particularly Archaeology and Anthropology. A person who had an undergrad degree in, say, Chemical Engineering wouldn’t have been accepted to the program, since he/she would have to do so much remedial work on proper research methods, styles of writing, etc.