Can you give a police officer who pulls you over collateral?

I am a musician and am always running to concerts, at which I have to arrive by a certain time. In my line of work, I accompany choirs so a whole lot of people depend on me to be on time.

I haven’t been pulled over by a cop yet. But I always wonder, if I do get pulled over for something like improper turning or improper passing, or some other minor violation, and I absolutely MUST arrive on time for a concert, is it possible for me to say to a cop something like, here, take my credit cards, my license, my house key, whatever, registration, and I’ll come to the police station after my concert to pay whatever fines are necessary? In other words, I’d be giving the officer collateral in exchange for his letting me go on my way. I would certainly pay the ticket, but I need to get to a concert! People are depending on me.

Now, I know, you’re going to say, “If you drive safely and plan to give yourself plenty of time to get there, you wouldn’t have this issue.” Yes, I know this. I’m just saying hypothetically, would officers accept something valuable if they know that the person is running late for something really important? On any other ordinary day, I’d of course respectfully accept a summons or ticket or what have you. But I’m late! I find it awful to think that an officer would say “Tough shit!” no matter if not arriving on time can kill your career or cause other serious issues in your life.

Any policemen that can tell me what to do JUST IN CASE I find myself having made a stupid mistake, and respectfully asking to postpone the ticket giving until after my commitment is complete? Do police officers have discretion in this or is there a policy? Assume I’d have no issues going to the police station afterwards and suffering the penalties I’ve incurred.

Thanks,

Dave

Yes, some probably would, depending on the value involved. This is called “bribery”.