Cancer from Marijuana

A friend asked me what I always do on the SDMB and I told him that the people here could answer any question, regardless of content. He doesn’t believe me, so he posed this question to me for an answer.

Let’s say that he smokes an ounce of weed a week using mainly a single chamber water bong with ice, and occassionally glass pipes, joints, blunts, etc.

Let’s also say that he’s been smoking for 5 years, and has maintained his current dosage for about 2 years. Let’s also say that he has no plans to quit in the near future.

What are the chances of lung cancer forming after X many years?

I suppose the basic question is, how carcinogenic is marijuana?

–Tim

Marijuana is very carcenogenic indeed, but nobody smokes it anywhere near the quantities that they do cigarrettes, so the chances of lung cancer as a direct result are probably not very high.

I am not a scientist.

Bob Marley!

Um. A survey was published in the UK last year, I think September, but I don’t have the details to hand.

The risk of cancer from marijuana smoking was assessed at about seven times greater than that of smoking normal tobacco cigarettes. I think this was mostly down to different smoking habits - smoke retained in the lungs longer, filters not used, that sort of thing - rather than any higher inherent carcinogenicity of the chemicals involved.

So…um. That’s why I don’t smoke. (Anything)

Most of the studies i’ve heard of that try to determine whether or not marijuana causes cancer fail to take one thing into account… the test subjects smoked cigarettes! But, my guess is that smoke (of any kind) is carbon monoxide. Carbon monoxide is a carcenogen. So, enough smoke of any kind could give you cancer. But as Bill Maher said, “Hey, sometimes fun costs ya…”

-Dani

Yep, smoking anything is bad for you, but how about eating MJ in brownies or cookies?