Can't We All Just Get Along?

I was trying to find the right thread to post this in, but I can’t go through all the backslapping or gnashing/wailing threads on this board to find an appropriate one, so I’m starting (yet) another:

CNN Daybreak transcript About 2/3rds of the way down.

I guess I’m that liberal NYer, although I tend to favor more conservative fiscal policies (not including a tax cut without a solid plan to reduce spending - that’s not conservative). And I worry about the Jerry’s from Maryland. My background is mixed. 100 years ago, people (mostly Democrats at the time…oh, how times have changed) used that same ideology to hold back my ancestors, who only a few decades before had finally won their freedom. 200 years ago, people used the same ideology to march across the nation, slaughtering the indigenous population. Now, homosexuals are in their view, and atheists like me are not too far behind.

Frankly, I think I (the socially liberal NYer) can get along far better with you (the moral Marylander) than vice versa. This liberal won’t look down on you for your beliefs. This liberal won’t look down on you for you ethnicity or social status. This liberal won’t look down on you for your sexual orientation. However, this liberal will look down on you if you show purposeful ignorance, or if you look down on me or anyone else for the reasons listed before.

[One last disclaimer: this ‘socially liberal’ NYer tends to split his opinions on social issues and sides with conservatives proposals often. I’m only ‘liberal’ in the mindset of the Jerry’s of Maryland]

How’s that old saying go again? The butcher can learn to like the pig, but the pig can never like the butcher?

I kind of disagree with you that liberals will be without hate or fault - at least right now. I’m fighting hard not to look down on friends of mine who voted for Bush. Until a week ago, politics was never a factor, now it’s difficult to get it out of my mind.