Careers in theater

I’m a freshman in college, and right now my declared major is secondary English education. But my real dream is . . . theatre! (To be said with a great rolling of the eyes and a clutching of the heart.) I really love costume construction/design or some form of management. I was terribly involved in my high school’s drama program and was assistant producer/stage manager/costume designer/all-mighty-queen-of-the-drama-department. (I had a tiara and everything.)

Is there anybody out there who can give me advice, tips, and/or info on the job opportunities in theater now and in the future? Experiences would be appreciated too, if anyone wants to share. Thanks in advance.

Slashily,
Sarah

Transfer to your school’s theater arts department. If there isn’t one, transfer to a school that does have one. Most people get their start in university theater. The next avenue is community theater, but… well… you did say “career”.

Anyway…

Break a leg!

Glad to hear that you want to work in the theatre. I did and I loved it. I was a stage manager. I will try to give you a few tips.
Just do it! Work wherever you can. Summer can bring work, or interships. Try to find a professional company. You may have to do as I did and be an unpaid intern at first but you have to start somewhere. I can’t say much good aboout community theatres but if that is all you can get, go for it. You need to learn from professionals.
Consider going to a college that specialies in theatre. I went to a school for the performing arts. I have my BFA in Design and Production. It helped.
Know that it takes a lot of time. It is not a 9 to 5 job. You have to work days AND nights 6 days a week. If you want to marry and have children then go join the part timers in the community theatre and play at it.
Know that New York is not the be all and end all. There is fine professional theatre all over the country.
Best wishes and have fun.
Stellablue