Cause of death on flight MH17

We are all aware of the tragedy which occurred with Malaysian Airlines MH17.

While I do not want to minimize the horror and grief experienced by all of us, there is something that has been bothering me, and I find that others I have discussed this tragedy with, have the same question.

I am hoping that the SD’s can provide an answer.

In that the aircraft was breached at around 33,000ft, what was the cause of death of most of the passengers; and how long would it have taken for them to die?

For the purposes of this question, I am disregarding those that would have been killed immediately by shrapnel.

I’m no aviation expert, but my guess would be that most died from falling impact with the ground. I don’t think one missile’s warhead would have been sufficient to kill the majority of nearly 300 people outright by sheer explosive force, especially considering the large size and stout design of the Boeing 777. A lot of live bodies probably hit the ground, perhaps most still inside the mangled cabin.

That being said, hypoxia at such a high altitude may have rendered some unconscious. The explosion might have, too. But some might have regained consciousness at a lower altitude (where there is more oxygen) shortly before hitting the ground.
Hypothermia probably played little to no role - didn’t linger in minus-60 degrees temperatures for long.

Probably unconscious from lack of oxygen long before they got low enough to breathe. Also a bit cold and just a 200 MPH wind in the cabin from the beach is not easy to live through without a lot of luck & good placement. Could have been much higher speed but I am low balling the wind speed inside as I do not know the condition of the cabin. They were lights out in seconds

Bodies could have been technically alive at impact but I doubt that any were conscious.

As to your second point, ever been out in a 60 MPH wind at 10 below in street clothes?