Causes of Muscle Twitches (question for the doctors)

I guess the title is fairly self explanatory. What prompted this question is that I have a fairly persistent muscle twitch in my right index finger. It seems rather different than what I would normally call “nervous tics” (eye twitches, corner of the mouth, etc).

Basically, periodically my finger tightens up and draws in towards my middle finger. If I try to prevent it from happening, the finger “vibrates.” What are potential causes for this? I’m beginning to get a little worried about it, so it’d be nice to hear “it’s just because of stress” :-).

bump help please?

Well, I’m no doctor, but I’d say that it is just a muscle twitch. Don’t try and stop it from occuring. If anything, then try and move your finger where it wants to go, and with force (ya know how squeezing a wound makes it hurt less…). If if causes pain (not pain from a cramped muscle, but actual Oh My God, this hurts like a … pain), then go to the doc.

I get really bad foot cramps sometimes. My foot contorts into a weird curve, and it hurts for a few seconds and goes away.

See, I thought that’s what it was too. The problem is that it happens a lot more often than just cramps. I’d say maybe once every hour or so, maybe a little more often. It’s kinda unsettling.

I’m pretty certain (no doc here) that you have some sort of tendonitis.

I’ve read above some pianists who described the same thing as you - where the finger closes (sometimes more than one close).

I think you should use " spasm" when searching, as it is more widely applied to the condition.

I believe you may have tendonitis of the long flexors.

Not a diagnosis, but I think the info I provided should help you narrow your search and find more succesful results when seeking causes and a diagnosis.

Another possibility, but I would rate second, is carpel tunnel syndrome.

The tensing and closing of the finger would steer me away from saying it is related to Parkinsons.