Changing my name to one that has a non-English letter in it. Bad idea?

Here’s the lowdown. I’ve got a peculiar last name. I don’t want to give it out (just because) but it would be in the same league as something like John Potion or John Cabinet or John Cardboard. It’s a semi-common noun in the English language.

So I did some geneology research and discovered that the spelling is an approximation by the immigration officials when my ancestors came over from the old country (shocker!). In my case, that’s Norway. So I found out that it’s pretty much the same except for the letter that is now an “e” was originally an “ø” (<- that’s supposed to be an “o” with a diagonal line through it – I’m not sure if letters typed from a Mac to a web page are going to appear correctly for PC users.)

So I kinda like the idea of correcting an old error and sort of reconnecting to my roots in a small way. Plus, I am a designer by trade and if I have a Scandinavian-looking name, it might might make some positive connotations to the whole Scandinavian Design thing. But that’s not the main goal, just a by-product.

The problem is: what kinds of headaches am I opening myself up for using a weird letter in my name? I already have to tell people how to spell my name because they never guess that it’s spelled just like the the semi-common noun. But now in addition, I am going to have to say “it’s an ‘o’ with a diagonal line through it.” I’m sure that most people won’t know where to find it on their keyboards (on the Mac, it’s [Option - o]).

I’d go for it if that’s what makes you happy. But I think you’re gonna have to get used to explaining the ø thing for the rest of your life. Also, some automated systems where you have to input your last name may not be able to recognize it and that might lead to some frustration.

It’s probably gonna be a trade off.