Cheap alternative to internet service/cable?

I’m moving next week and I need the internet because I’m a student. The cable would be a nice convenience but not necessary.
The cable provider is mediacom. They offer both cable and internet and about sixty bucks per month for the package. In my opinion, that unreasonable.

So, I’m in the market for internet and cable. are there any other services I should look into? I heard about computers having the ability to receive television channels. I’m not sure of the logic behind that.
I’m really open to anything so please let me know, it would be much appreciated.

If you are in a Verizon phone service area, they have basic DSL for 14.99 a month for the first year, and the first month is free.

$60 is the* double secret, one time only, new subscriber bargain rate* for internet and cable around here (central NC.) Internet alone is nearly fifty.

You can find out if a neighbor would be willing to share a connection and the cost with you, or you may just be fortunate enough to be in a public access wi-fi area.

Since this is looking for opinions on good deals, not looking for a fight, I’m sending it to IMHO.

[ /Moderating ]

Since this is looking for opinions on good deals, not looking for a fight, I’m sending it to IMHO.

You guys should set up an isp, you are being robbed.

Adsl2 (20M/1M) +Phone +TV for 30E

(call cost not included)

$60 for cable and internet? That doesn’t sound unreasonable at all … but I guess I haven’t priced such packages in a while.

If you’re really worried about money, I suggest not looking for cable. Get a pair of bunny ears for your TV and a $8/mo Netflix subscription and just watch broadcast TV and DVD movies, read more or watch a lot of YouTube. You’d be surprised how long you can live without cable.

If I could pay only $60 for both cable and Internet, I’d kiss the installer, with tongue.