Chefs--describe your dream kitchen

I’m a hobbyist chef, and I’m in the beginning stages of planning a total kitchen expansion and remodel. Basically, I’m going to tear out the existing kitchen and expand it into a space next to it that used to be a formal dining room.

What elements would you want in a kitchen if you had unlimited space and money? I’m especially interested in appliances (and which brands you covet) and little conveniences that people might not think of. I don’t particularly care about design elements unless they affect functionality in some way–I cook pretty much daily and almost all day on weekends, so having a kitchen that makes life easier is key.

Pot hangers instead of storage cabinets. I had wall-mounted hangers in my last home, but no room for any in this one. I saw a swing up stand (cabinet based) for a mixer in a magazine on kitchens recently: very cool. If I could have the same thing for the food processor, I’d be much happier. A Jenn-Air grill with a downdraft vent and the griddle top accessory. Had that in my last place, also, and used it quite a bit. A six-burner gas range. Thick floor cushion mats throughout. An island or counter that has a sink and prep area away from the dish sink. Good task lighting and under-counter lighting. When we had our kitchen renovated in Anchorage, I had them put in under-counter lighting. What a huge difference.

This has nothing to do with your OP, rather your username. “Drain Bead”…I know what this is supposed to be, a pun on “brain dead”; however it reads as “beed”. It would seem like this would undercut the novelty of your name. “Drain beed”, what is that, a bead that gets inserted into a clogged drain to clear it?? :wink: