Children send me letters!

I work as a humane educator, going into about 15-20 classrooms each month to talk about some aspect of the human-animal relationship. Sometimes this frankly sucks, such as today, when I talked to a class of surly 15-year-old brutes about animal abuse and had to deal with their leering at photos of horribly maimed dogs. Makes me drink.

But a couple of weeks ago I visited four third-grade classes, talked to them about the shelter, and played “54 dogs” with them, a simulation game in which the students use pictures of 54 dogs from the shelter to see how quickly unaltered animals can increase in population. I always ask teachers to send an evaluation form, and today I received my evaluations.

And one class sent along letters. They are adorable!

Yay! I no longer have to drink! These letters just made my day (especially Kitty Girl Shivery Muffin, the best cat name ever), so I figured I would share :).

Daniel

Okay, these Google ads are a little creepy. I click on this ad, and the fourth result it returns is for a ten-minute video on skinning deer.

Maybe I drink a little.

Daniel

Let’s see if that works better.

Daniel

I just thought I’d say Hi so you weren’t the only poster in your thread. Also to second your opinion on the Best Cat Name Ever.

Your OP is nice, and it’s great to get letters from little kids, but, to be honest, your thread title is a little creepy. :wink:

Maybe you can ask a mod to change it to Children sent me letters!

I had a very bad, long, Monday, Daniel. Eating cold leftovers in front of the computer, hoping that something would make me laugh or smile. Your thread did better- made me feel warm and happy. Even happier that you are spreading the idea of kindness to little ones.

And I agree, Kitty Girl Shivery Muffin is the best cat name ever.

How bizarre that a letter that begins with “Dear Mr. Dorkness” should turn out to be complimentary. :smiley: