Chris Christie: "I Was a Law Enforcement Officer." Stolen Valor?

Not fifteen minutes ago on Face The Nation… governor Chris Christie stated emphatically “I Was a Law Enforcement Officer.”

According to every search of his history, he was once a Prosecutor. He has never worn, let alone earned, a badge.

This seems like a clear case of stolen valor… or is that just for pretenders who claim they served in the military?

Maybe he meant to say Law Enforcement Officer of the Court…

I’m guessing that New Jersey classifies prosecutors as LEO. Stretching the actual on-the -ground reality but technically true. (if that is the case)

Burlington County

From here.

Prosecutors are officially considered “law enforcement officers” by the US Government.

As the U.S. Attorney he served as “Chief Federal Law Enforcement Officer in New Jersey from January 17, 2002, to December 1, 2008,” per his Wikipedia page.

So IMO he’s stealing something when he keeps claiming he was appointed the day before the WTC attacks.

From the New Jersey Supreme Court:

Quoting State v. Winne, 96 A.2d 63, 79 (1953).

Is the OP planning to return and concede error?

I’m not a big fan of Christie, but he was indeed a Law Enforcement Officer. All prosecutors are. I would love to see the statement in context, I’ll bet the context further reduces the stolen valor bit.

Does Christie enjoy shoving his face into running chainsaws?

He’s literally correct in a technical sense. Right. Wonderful. If he thinks for a minute that the rest of the GOP field isn’t going to pounce on this and successfully treat it as a case of stolen valor he’s crazier than a shithouse rat. When you have a candidate all but blaming George W. Bush for 9/11, this is just too easy a target.

OTOH, if it isn’t torn into, he’s so irrelevant he might as well concede now. In fact, I’ll just say it: He’s so irrelevant he might as well concede now.