Civ 3 Advice

The only gripe I can make about this game is the 2050 mandatory end date. The game is pretty hard, so I play on the easiest level. By the time the deadline hits, I’m just beginning the Industrial Age.

Can anyone here give me advice on how to advance well into the modern ages before 2050?

You’re playing the easiest level and are barely industrial by 2050?

My first word of advice would be to stop executing citizens who can read.

But seriously, I always avoided conflict whenever possible, traded scientific advances whenever I could and adjusted my taxes on the following formula:

[ul][li]Barely enough revenue to pay for city costs.[/li][li]As much science as possible.[/li][li]As few luxuries as I can get away with.[/li][/ul]
Building road links to luxury resources on the map like gems and furs and whatnot is pretty important, since it’ll keep your greedy ungrateful plebian slobs in line. I also skipped Monarchy and Feudalism generally and went for Republic as early as possible. The game also has a cripping bug that puts “corruption” way out of line. Download the necessary patches and try again.

That same website has oodles of tips and information about Civ III. In fact, it’s making me want to re-install it and waste the next two weeks of my life.

You can continue playing once your time is up.

My goal is to build a spaceship and I still haven’t done it yet. I do have a game saved in which I’ve made it far into the modern era by 1900. I am Germany and India as my opponent on two big, seperate continents so I wouldn’t have to do any fighting.

Hike up your research money and keep the civil unrest to a minimum.

Or what Bryan said, but with much less practical advice.

I haven’t been able to build a spacechip yet either but I have managed to win by being voted the leader of the UN. In most games however, when I’m finally able to build the UN I don’t have enough time.

Do you guys use the auto-governments for your cities? and Automate your workers?