Civ IV kinda' annoys me a little....

Civ IV annoyance

I just started playing Civ IV, and overall, I like the game, sometimes I go for the normal playing type, playing the country as they’re “supposed” to be played (Romans being Expansionist, India being Non-Violent Pacifists, etc…), but sometimes I just love playing against typecasting (Ghandi as a brutal, tyrranical dictator with first-strike nuclear capability and willingness to use it)

but one thing generally annoys me with this game…

the fact that no matter how hard I try, no matter how I avoid their work/research objects, something keeps cropping up, uninvited, unwanted, unneeded, and unloved in my cities…

it keeps popping up, like a cockroach, no matter what I do to try and suppress it, it insists on appearing and spreading, like a virus, or fungus

Religion!

I play my game from a hardline Atheist standpoint, no matter who I play, be it Washington, Gahndi, Elizabeth, Kahn (KAAAAAHHHHHNNNNN!!!), etc… I DO NOT want ANY religion in my game, I want to see what a simulated world geopolitical environment would be without the Opiate of the Masses

Any ideas how to keep my game free of silly superstitions, or at the very least, is there a way to introduce fun religions like I.P.U-ism, Pastafarianism, Frisbeetarianism, Og-ism, or Cthuluism?

any mods available, like a Zombie uprising, or Alien invasion?

Well you could go back to Civ 3… :eek:

As an atheist, I have no problem with religion in Civ 4.
The game idea is to roughly simulate the growth of Civilisation and (like it or not) religion has played a part for thousands of years.
The only effects of religion are to provided happiness, culture and knowledge (through Temples etc.) and to affect your relationships with other leaders.

If it really bugs you, I have two suggestions: