Coding/Programming nightmares. Those forced on you and the ones you left for others

If you’ve dealt with code, you’ve almost assuredly run into a ball of code you’d rather not deal with at all, but you have to anyway. If you’ve done it long enough, you’ve probably been the progenitor of the same for someone else to deal with. You might be the kind of person who actually wrote clean, readable code from birth, but I think you’re likely to be the exception, and you’ve still probably had to deal with the efforts of the rest of us. So, I figure we can share our nigthmares here.

I’ll share one I had to deal with and one I created to start us off. It kind of neatly bookends my tenure at one job.

The one I had to deal with:

When I was a fledgling Unix admin, I ran into problems and irregularities (a bunch of fucking bugs) in a Perl script that our CTO had written that in the end managed mail routing and aliases on all of the 4000 or so systems that our company ran/rented using our standard Linux image. I got access to the unencrypted file shortly before he left the company, and endeavored to resolve some of them.

It started with the worst variable names. and never got any better. IIRC sequentially $A-$NN (yes, all scalars), in less than 200 lines of intentionally bizarrely written code. No comments whatsoever. When talking to another employee, I found out that the previous CTO had admitted he himself had no idea how it worked anymore. I slogged through it to where I had about half the code figured out and commented before I found out that we were going to ditch everything about the old system, anyway. I still dealt with other code that fool created, but none was as nasty as that.

The one I created: