College profs: any interesting comments on student evals?

I’ve always been curious about what other people write on their evaluations. Are they helpful? Do you get some really odd comments? How often do you get people taking anonymous shots without saying anything constructive?

I usually try to be helpful and say what I liked in the class, and what I think might have worked better if it would have been handled differently. A friend of mine commented that the professor was a sharp dresser.

I’m not prof, but I am a student (unionist) who conducted evaluations for a few classes. Ours are extremely boring, usually only very generic comments. About the only insight that I gained was that people really hate it when lecturers read from their slides.
Our evaluations have some very basic problems. The department wants them, but they have no immediate consequences. Furthermore our classes are small. This gives us a tiny sample of opinions (e.g. psycholinguistics got a staggering return of 3 questionnaires) and opinions can almost be traced to students.
We are currently looking for ways to enhance our evaluations, but we haven’t reached any useful conclusions yet.

I did some temp work a few years ago. One of the jobs was to type up all the evaluations for a local university’s Liberal Arts department. This was so the comments were not in the students’ handwriting when the professors read them, theoretically cutting down on the likelihood that the students would be recognized.