Confederate Flag: offensive or not?

I’m a high school teacher in a south Texas town (though I’m not from around here). We regularly write up students with inappropriate clothing: crop-top shirts, too-mini-skirts, sleeveless shirts for boys, transparent clothing, seeing underwear above pants/skirt waistline. Yesterday, I sent a boy to the office who was wearing a “Playboy” turtleneck (it said “Playboy” on the collar and had their rabbit head logo on it), since I knew they were not allowed.

Then today, I saw a boy with a hoodie that had the confederate flag big and bold on the front. I nudged the teacher whose room he walked in to, and pointed out the flag. The teacher didn’t think that was on the banned list (which isn’t a list, but a broad description; more on that later). I IMed the principal, and he said that Confederate flags weren’t banned. Hmmm…

Looking up the Student Code of Conduct, it states this as one of its paragraphs on clothing requriements in the dress code section:

Blockquote

Articles of clothing with pictures, emblems, symbols, slogans, or writings that
are lewd, vulgar, obscene, contain sexual innuendoes, depict sexual or
violent acts, or cause disruption or distraction to the educational
process is prohibited. Articles of clothing that advertise or depict
tobacco products, alcoholic beverages, drugs, controlled substances, or other
outlawed items are also prohibited.

Blockquote

From that, it’s obvious why the Playboy rabbit logo is banned. Myself, I find the Confederate flag offensive (I’m white, but I have a few relatives of African slave descent). But the closest I could really apply my offense to is “emblems… that… depict violent acts”.

Do you think, looking at the applicable paragraph, that Confederate wear should be banned on any basis?

Disruption and distraction would be my first choice. Kid may or may not realize it, but he’s advocating for owing black people as property, not to mention treason.