Confessions - Things you regret

I used to work at an amusement park. I was a Games Operator. I ran those games where tourists would pay money to get a chance to win prizes worth less than what they paid to play. Well, this one day, a group of kids about my age visited my games a couple times during the day. They learned my name, chatted a bit.

Well, in their last visit, they were acting fairly obnoxious, asking me to give them free prizes (prizes are counted rather obsessively), let them win, whatever. Then this one guy, said of this girl, “Look at this cute face, how can you resist.” I don’t know exactly why, but I responded, “I’m not impressed.” Probably because I had just conditioned myself by this point to deny every one of their arguments as to why I should risk my job giving them free shit. Well, I’d hurt her feelings, and she walks away. I hear that she is crying. They tell me that she’s “really sensitive about her looks.” (The girl was actually very attractive. If she hadn’t been, I never would have said what I did.) But I ultimately have no excuse. I felt absolutely terrible, and didn’t stop thinking about it for at least a month. And even then I didn’t stop, I just stopped obsessing over it. I’ll probably never see her again, never get to apologize, and of course I can never take it back, but I’d give almost anything if I could. I always fancy myself a “nice”, sensitive guy, but I made a thoughtless remark that hurt someone, and it just tears me up.

Carnie, get a life.

Tzel… Sure, the remark was harsh. But it’s not like it was undeserved (she was as guilty as they, by association if not by deed), and she should’ve known that your reaction was to their harrassment and attempt then at her face itself. In other words, it’s not like she was open and vulnerable, and it’s not like she was looking for your approval. Don’t worry about it. :slight_smile: