Controlling police dogs purely by voice command

I like watching programs like “Cops” and ones of a similar nature. I’m curious about the control of police dogs by their handlers that I’ve seen many times on TV.

If a police dog is already excited about going after someone, can they be controlled purely by voice command? i.e. If a police dog takes off after a suspect and his handler loses physical control of the dog, will it obey a “STOP!” command (or whatever the normal word is; I realize they have a special vocabulary of command words)? I get the impression from watching TV that once the dog is in attack mode it is hard to control.

I am no expert in this, but have the impression that a smart and well-trained dog will do anything it’s trained to do, including stop short on command.

When a trained dog is attacking someone, it’s not exactly following predatory instincts, it’s following the training it has been given. Dogs are capable of quite remarkable discipline once properly trained - look at sheepdogs, for example - an ordinary untrained dog might just want to run after the fluffy meat-beasts, but a trained sheepdog can be controlled by the shepherd’s commands as precisely and surgically as a radio controlled vehicle.

I believe you, but the lunging by police dogs that I’ve seen on TV a few times puzzles me. The handlers sure look like they are exerting themselves keeping the critters under control.

My little brother was a K9 officer for a number of years. His dogs (only one at a time) lived with him and they trained together even in their off hours so the bond was very strong and the human-as-alpha dynamic was maintained at all times. Good police dogs are very controllable by voice and other auditory signals as well as sight commands. Not all dogs can do it even if they come from a good bloodline although that greatly improves the odds that they will be able to.