Cooking on my wood stove

Several people at work tell me cooking and heating with a wood stove leaves a huge carbon footprint, and that electricity leaves a much smaller one. I live in western Oregon, and I have to heat my house for about 6 months. We have hydroelectric power here, but I’m burning wood that came down in a snow storm last winter. Does electricity have a smaller footprint than my wood stove?

I don’t know, but I’d love to learn how to use a wood stove. How my ancestors did it without a temp gauge is a mystery to me.

A wood stove helped me as a baby I’m told. When I was about a month old, in January of 1955, an ice storm took out a lot of the electric grid in my city. My folks took me to friends who live in the country, and had a wood stove. I was a baby and needed the heat.

What kind of footprint? I’m no expert, but it kind of depends.

Wood burning has a larger carbon footprint than hydro. But, hydro can destroy ecosystems and affect the local environment drastically by diverting water, flooding areas, and otherwise majorly disrupting animal habitats. Also, on a case-by-case basis, lakes/reservoirs from hydro can turn into major greenhouse gas emitters, as vegetation grows and decomposes in the still waters.

Wood is very dirty. But, it’s a renewable resource.

Hydro is, on the surface, cleaner, but it’s not always true, and it is majorly disruptive to the environment.

Burning wood at home is also either self-foraged (as in your specific case), or is likely going to be purchased from a local source, so there are positive economic impacts for the community that aren’t necessarily true when you’re getting your energy from hydro.