Courtesy Works (usually)

I am in favour of being courteous, polite and well spoken. For years I worked in retail, at a major home improvement retailer , and experienced customers ranging from “polite” to “Requiring Sedation with a tranquilizer Dart filled with industrial strength Thorazine”.

Invairiably, I was polite. Why? Because 1) It usually worked, and 2)If things went really sour, my reputation for politeness would protect me from managment when the Irate customer tried to ruin my day by “Talking to my manager”. My manager could, and did respond with “D” is well known here for his couresty and customer service. It is extremely rare that we have customer complaints about his high level of servce… let’s get to the root of the problem here…"

I am polite to telemarketers … “I am sorry to interupt, but I realise that you make your money by the number of people that you sell to, and I am NOt going to buy your product over the phone. Thank you for considering me as a client, but I suggest that you will find greater profitability talking to other people.” (they are usually so shocked by this response that they apologise for wasting my time).

I am poilite to chldren, grouches, co workers, rude waiters, boors and people who seem to feel that they need to waste my time to make their life somehow, momentarily brighter and, always door to door proslytutes.

I do not mean to imply I am a “push over”, in fact I find I can say almost anything to anyone politely. It catches them off guard, and makes them actually hear what I have to say. If all else fails, it let’s me walk away more or less unscathed by their own lack of consideration. Where a “Go F…k yourself!” serves for others, I find it just as expecdient and often more impacting to say “Our time together is providing no mutual gain, I suggest most politely that you find a more suiatble venue for your actions/opinions/sales pitch/tantrum… etc”