Cousin wants to attend US Naval Academy- what should she know going in?

So one of my cousins is in the summer before her junior year of high school, and she’s recently started expressing interest in trying to get a navy commission after school. She really wants to be a naval aviator, and apparently (at least according to her) she has a much better chance of getting a job flying if she goes through the naval academy instead of the ROTC. I know there are a lot of serving/former military dopers, so I was wondering if there was anything I should be telling her to expect/be prepared to deal with if she actually gets in?

She should know a Congressperson or two.

Here is a list from eHow: http://www.ehow.com/how_5047328_naval-academy.html

A few years after I graduated from college, I explored the possibility of entering the Air Force, ostensibly to be a pilot. I remember there being many questions regarding drug use, and especially drug use back in high school. I was asked if I had any kind of drug experience in my background, beyond “experimentation with marijuana”.

Thus, if your cousin has used other, “harder” drugs, or has sold any drugs (including MJ), she will probably not be accepted. Of course, standards might have changed in the past 20 years.

How’s her eyesight? Gotta be 20/20 to fly. My brother is entering the SEALS in July and was roughly -3 in each eye, so he had to have PRK lasik done. Now, my parents could easily swing the 4k, but would that be a concern for her? Can’t do the cheap lasik either, gotta be without a flap.

Is she prepared for constant sexual harassment? Benign, but constant? Is she tough enough for it?

What do her extracurriculars look like? She really wants at least 4 years with a sport, and 4 years with a non-sport extracurricular. She needs to be in leadership positions in these organizations–team captain, newspaper editor, etc.