creating a bench test device to check if car parts work.

I am not very good at making homemade electrical devices, So, I’m hoping someone out here can help me out.

Here’s what I’d like to do… I’d like to be able to hook up a horn, radio, or anything else that runs on electric current from the car’s battery when the car is put together properly.

I believe the horns, for example, need 12 volts. Could I go out and buy myself say 2 six volt batteries, hook them up together and run a wire from the power source (batteries) to the individual horn to check to see if it was in working order?

Right now, the only way to check anything myself is to put it in the car and test it by using it as you would in the normal fashion the device would be used… blow the horn or turn on the radio. It would be great if I could check these parts outside of the car. So if I have a dead radio in my car, and I find a radio that could fit, I could quickly check the radio outside of the car and without the car’s battery?

Anyone have an idea on how I could do this?

Thanks!

you could use two equal 6V batteries (of adequate size) in series, you could use a single 12V battery (of adequate size). you could use the battery from your car.

you could buy yourself a 12V motorcycle or alarm system battery that could work. you could buy yourself another auto battery. you could buy a 12V DC supply of adequate size.

Don’t use batteries - they are too expensive, and too low power. Get a 12v power supply like this.

I usually just use a 12volt car battery charger to check to see if things like car horns or window motors work.

I guess what I’m asking is how would it look hooked up? What wires go where? I understand the concept of 2 6 volts = 1 12 volt battery, but beyond that, I’m at a loss as to how I’d run wires from a horn or radio to the battery and back again to either hear the horn blow or hear static on the radio.