Cytometry vs. Optical Grid Counts

Dammit Jim, I’m a rocket scientist, not a cell biologist!

I’m selecting a project for my master’s in systems engineering, and I hoped that the Straight Dope could lend their cell biology expertise. I’m considering automating several steps of the optical grid method of cell counting. I don’t have to build the machine, but I do have to explain why it would be useful and define the machine well enough that someone else could design it from my specifications.

I understand – and correct me if I’m wrong – that optical counting is a prerequisite to plating, which is itself the first step in doing “blots” for RNA, DNA, and protein. Optical counting is also useful (again, as I understand it) for some tissue and blood studies. I keep coming across another cell-counting method called “flow cytometry”, however, and I can’t imagine why anyone would do optical counting when such an advanced tool exists for precisely measuring the cell content of a sample.

So, my question is, does optical-grid cell counting have any advantages over flow cytometry, or any specific applications where flow cytometry is unacceptable? Also, my Google-fu on this topic is surprisingly weak. Are there better / standard terms for the process I’m trying to automate?

I’ve never actually used FACS and have a limited knowledge of it’s implementation, but I think it’s a question of ease of use and the investment required in setting up a FACS versus the ultimate amount of cell-number statistics you’ll ultimately require.