What happens if a player, after the third dart on his throw, needs exactly one point to zero out? Wikipedia references “splitting the 11” in “friendly games” but I can’t find a cite that explains how it works in a tournament or professional setting.
The whole visit that led to the impossible finish is annulled, scoring zero, and the player forfeits any further darts that visit if he had them. So if your second dart leaves you 1 to finish, your first two darts are scrubbed and the third isn’t thrown.
Exactly, any throw that would leave you with a 1 to finish is the same as a bust.
There are no “friendly games” even in games amongst friends.
I used to work for a small company (about a dozen people) where we had a dart board in the break room. If you wound up with just one point, splitting the ones (hitting in between the two digits in the 11) was allowed, but you had to ask the other player and get his blessing for the shot, and you only had one try at it, even if you had two darts left in your turn.
We got that rule from the president of the company. He was English, and his father had been a publican. That was good enough for us.
Our dart board looked very much like this. If you look at the 11, there’s a tiny little triangular hole where the wire bends outside of the ring. There’s barely room for a dart. I hit that to win. Twice.